## MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, February 4, 2013 11:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, February 4, 2013, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*\*

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Senator John Carona

Senator Glenn Hegar, Chair Senator Donna Campbell, Vice Chair Senator Troy Fraser Senator Jane Nelson Senator Kirk Watson

\*\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Troy Fraser

Senator Watson moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Hegar introduced the committee staff, Robert Haley and Jake Johnson. Each member then made an introduction of the staff person with whom he/she will be working.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Nichols to introduce Darby Byrd and Jay Shands, nominees to the Finance Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Hancock to introduce Richard Alpert, nominee to the Texas Forensic Science Commission, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar recognized Dr. Steven Weinberg, nominee to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, to make an opening statement to the committee.

Dr. Weinberg answered questions from the members of the committee.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Dr. Steven Weinberg to be a member of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. At 11:19 am, by a vote of 4 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent, the committee voted to recommend Dr. Steven Weinberg to the full Senate for confirmation.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Rodriguez to introduce Larry Patton, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Seliger to introduce The Honorable Victor Leal, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar recognized Susan Burton, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas, to introduce herself to the committee.

Nominees to the Finance Commission of Texas made opening statements followed by questions from the members of the committee.

Senator Nelson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominees to the Finance Commission of Texas. At 11:30 am, the motion carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 0 nays, 1 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Davis to introduce Dr. Nizam Peerwani, nominee to the Texas Forensic Science Commission, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar recognized Senator Campbell to introduce Dr. Vincent Di Maio, nominee to the Texas Forensic Science Commission, to the committee.

Senator Lucio submitted written comments of support for his constituent Bobby Lerma, nominee to the Texas Forensic Science Commission, to the committee.

The nominees to the Texas Forensic Science Commission made opening statements and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Campbell moved that the committee vote to approve the nominees to the Texas Forensic Science Commission. At 11:35 am, the motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: 230th Judicial District Court, Harris County, 234th Judicial District Court, Harris County, 83rd Judicial District Court, Pecos, Terrell, and Val Verde Counties, Administrative Judicial Region, Fourth, Administrative Judicial Region, Ninth, Administrative Judicial Region, Sixth, Board for Lease of Texas Department of Criminal Justice Lands, Board for Lease of Texas Parks and Wildlife Lands, Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, District Attorney for the 36th Judicial District, Aransas and San Patricio Counties, Grayson County Regional Mobility Authority, Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority, North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Health Services Authority Board of Directors, and Texas Underground Facility Notification Corporation (One-Call Board). The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 11:40 AM, Chairman Hegar moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Glenn Hegar, Chair

Jake Johnson, Clerk