Congratulatory And Memorial Calendar

Wednesday, March 13, 2013
10:00 AM




HR 142              Zedler / Orr

Recognizing March 6, 2013, as Mansfield Day at the State Capitol.

HR 383              Laubenberg / Leach

Congratulating the Allen High School football team on winning the UIL 5A Division 1 state championship.

HR 478              Farrar

Congratulating Bob Van Steenburg of Austin on his retirement as chair of the Texas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty.

HR 590              Raney / Kacal

Honoring former Texas A&M punter Steve O'Neal on his induction into the American Football Kicking Hall of Fame.

HR 600              Davis, Yvonne / et al.

Honoring the Democratic women of Texas.

HR 609              Darby

Congratulating Leroy and Jackie Palmer of San Angelo on their 64th wedding anniversary.

HR 615              Dale / Gonzales, Larry

Honoring the 100th anniversary of the Round Rock Independent School District.

HR 616              Dale

Commending U.S. Army Staff Sergeant Jeffery Musgrave of Austin, a recipient of the Bronze Star with Valor Device and the Purple Heart, for his exemplary service to his country.

HR 622              Kleinschmidt

Recognizing the Gonzales "Come and Take It" Cannon as a Texas Treasure.

HR 632              Davis, Sarah

Honoring the Chinese American Doctors Association of Houston on the 20th anniversary of its founding.

HR 634              Miller, Doug

Honoring country music legend Merle Haggard.

HR 639              Strama

Recognizing March 26, 2013, as Texas Partnership for Out of School Time Day at the State Capitol.

HR 643              Smith / Raymond

Commending artist Ken Pridgeon of Baytown for painting portraits of fallen service members from the Lone Star State and donating the prints to their families.

HR 650              Pitts

Congratulating Arthur Mann on his selection as the Hill County Citizen of the Year by the Hillsboro Area Chamber of Commerce.

HR 655              Bonnen, Dennis

Commending Coleman Pollock and Alisha Trevino for rescuing a young girl from drowning.

HR 656              Lavender

Recognizing March 27, 2013, as Lamar County Day at the State Capitol.

HR 658              Flynn

Congratulating Raymond and Betty Sweetman of Canton on their 62nd wedding anniversary.

HR 662              Sheets

Congratulating the Republic Group of Dallas on its 110th anniversary.

HR 663              Sheets / Branch / Johnson

Commemorating the 60th anniversary of St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church in Dallas.

HR 664              Miller, Rick

Congratulating Joe B. Allen on his retirement as senior partner with Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP.

HR 674              Springer

Congratulating Gainesville on its selection as the most patriotic city in America by Rand McNally and USA Today.

HR 675              Smith / Sheffield, Ralph

Congratulating Clarine Deaver of Belton on her 90th birthday.

HR 679              King, Susan

Recognizing April 3, 2013, as Parent Association for the Retarded of Texas Day at the State Capitol.

HR 680              Howard

Commending art therapist and O. Henry Middle School counselor Wanda Montemayor of Austin for leading a project to create a mural depicting 100 years of history at Deep Eddy Pool.

HR 690              Farney

Honoring the Georgetown High School Jazz Ensemble on its performance at the State Capitol for Fine Arts Day on March 4, 2013.

HR 691              Raney

Recognizing March 4 through 8, 2013, as Public Schools Week.

HR 694              Johnson

Commemorating the 80th anniversary of the founding of St. Luke "Community" United Methodist Church in Dallas.

HR 698              Farney

Congratulating Seeds of Strength on its receipt of the 2013 Jesse "Buz" Sawyer Award for Philanthropy from the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce.

HR 704              Naishtat

Recognizing April 25, 2013, as Texas Charitable Clinic Day.

HR 705              Anchia

Honoring Dia de la Mujer Latina for its work in behalf of women's health.

HR 709              Rodriguez, Eddie

Commemorating the 200th anniversary of the first Texas Declaration of Independence on April 6, 2013.

HR 711              Button

Congratulating Naaman Forest High School in Garland on its receipt of a 2012 College Readiness Award from the Texas ACT Council.

HR 712              Button

Congratulating Brenda Gardner on her receipt of the Platinum Volunteer of the Year Award at the 2012 Rowlett Boards and Commissions Volunteer Banquet.

HR 713              Button

Congratulating Kay Hopper on her retirement as CEO of the Warren Center in Richardson.

HR 715              Leach / Laubenberg / Taylor, Van

Honoring Mayor Phil Dyer for his service to Plano.

HR 718              Davis, Sarah

Recognizing September 8 through 14, 2013, as American Heroes Week.

********** MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS **********

HCR 65              Workman

Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Rotary Club of Austin.

HR 602              Gooden

In memory of Barbara McFaul of Kemp.

HR 608              Raymond

In memory of former state representative Eldon Edge, Sr., of Ingram.

HR 610              Darby

In memory of John Stark Cargile of San Angelo.

HR 611              Darby

In memory of Charles Wayne Smith of San Angelo.

HR 612              Darby

In memory of Amy Johnson McLaughlin of San Angelo.

HR 627              Canales

In memory of Mayor Pro Tempore Noe Garza of Edinburg.

HR 659              Márquez

In memory of Jose Angel Silva of El Paso.

HR 687              Anderson

In memory of fallen American hero Christopher Scott Kyle.

HR 688              Price

In memory of Jeff Tankersley of Amarillo.

HR 706              Paddie

In memory of Thomas L. Whaley of Marshall.