WHEREAS, The Allen High School football team reached the
  pinnacle of success by winning the University Interscholastic
  League 5A Division 1 state championship on December 22, 2012, at
  Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and
         WHEREAS, Matching up against Houston Lamar High School in
  the title game, the Eagles found themselves in a hard-fought
  battle in which their opponent came from behind to tie the
  score at 21 late in the third quarter; a decisive shift in
  momentum took place on the ensuing kickoff, however, when
  Allen's Oliver Pierce returned the ball 80 yards to set up a
  touchdown; the Eagles then put the game away by adding another
  touchdown in the fourth quarter to claim a 35-21 victory; among
  the many Eagles who had standout performances were offensive
  most valuable player Kyler Murray and defensive most valuable
  player Cameron Hartsfield; and
         WHEREAS, The state final triumph concluded a memorable
  season in which the team compiled an overall record of 15 wins and
  1 loss, beating such formidable challengers as previous state
  champion Southlake Carroll; and
         WHEREAS, Throughout the year, the Eagles benefited from
  exceptional teamwork, with each player contributing to the
  championship quest; the able leadership of head coach Tom
  Westerberg and his staff was also essential to the players'
  accomplishments, as was the overwhelming support of the Allen
  community; and
         WHEREAS, The 2012 championship represents the team's
  second title in five years, and the Eagles are one of just nine
  schools that have won multiple championship trophies in 5A
  competition; and
         WHEREAS, Demonstrating outstanding skill and an enduring
  commitment to excellence, the hardworking young athletes of
  the Allen High School football team have furthered their
  school's tradition of achievement on the gridiron, and they may
  reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd
  Legislature, hereby congratulate the Allen High School
  football team on winning the University Interscholastic League
  5A Division 1 state championship and extend to the team's
  players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the
  future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the
  Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on January 30, 2013.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate