WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  join the residents of South Texas in celebrating January 30,
  2013, as Rio Grande Valley Higher Education Day at the State
  Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Three University of Texas satellite campuses will
  participate in the gathering; events will include a musical
  performance and the opportunity for students and faculty to meet
  state legislators; and
         WHEREAS, The University of Texas-Pan American in Edinburg
  boasts more than 19,000 students and has a national reputation;
  it ranks second in the country for graduating Hispanic students
  with a bachelor's degree and fourth in the nation in the number of
  Hispanics who receive a master's degree; and
         WHEREAS, The University of Texas-Brownsville is advancing
  science with its on-site technological programs; the biology
  department and student divers regularly gather environmental
  data from artificial reefs in the Gulf of Mexico; the university
  is also building an advanced radio telescope at the Port
  Mansfield Spaceport with funding from the United States Defense
  Department; and
         WHEREAS, The University of Texas Health Science Center-San
  Antonio Regional Academic Health Center is a burgeoning
  institution, with campuses in Harlingen and Edinburg, that has
  the goal of creating a free-standing medical school in South
  Texas; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
  83rd Legislature, hereby commend all those participating in Rio
  Grande Valley Higher Education Day at the State Capitol and
  extend to them best wishes for an exciting celebration; and, be
  it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in
  honor of this occasion.
  Hinojosa, Lucio, Zaffirini
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on January 30, 2013.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate
         Member, Texas Senate
         Member, Texas Senate