83R22883 BPG-D
  By: Moody H.R. No. 1631
         WHEREAS, Ann Crawford McClure, chief justice of the Eighth
  Court of Appeals, has been named the recipient of the 2013 BRAVO
  Award by the League of Women Voters of El Paso; and
         WHEREAS, In selecting Chief Justice McClure, the league cited
  her unwavering dedication to justice, her support for humanitarian
  efforts, and her allegiance to the principles of charity and
  goodwill that define the Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels, of
  which she is a commissioned member; and
         WHEREAS, Ann McClure graduated magna cum laude from Texas
  Christian University and went on to complete her law degree at the
  University of Houston Law Center in 1979; she joined a prominent
  family firm in Houston and in 1983 opened a solo practice in
  appellate law in El Paso; gaining board certification in family law
  and civil appellate law, she eventually merged practices with her
  husband, David, into the partnership of McClure & McClure; she
  maintained her statewide appellate practice until 1994, when she
  was elected to the Eighth Court of Appeals, and in October 2011, she
  became the first female chief justice in the court's 100-year
  history; and
         WHEREAS, Deeply committed to continuing legal education,
  Chief Justice McClure lectures frequently in the areas of appellate
  practice, family law, evidence, ethics, and women's issues, and she
  has authored numerous articles; she was appointed to the Texas
  Board of Law Examiners by the Supreme Court of Texas in 1991, and
  she was one of the original members of the Texas Board of
  Disciplinary Appeals; she has also served on the Texas Family Law
  Specialization Exam Commission and the Texas Civil Appellate Law
  Advisory Commission and has chaired the State Bar of Texas
  Appellate Section, the Family Law Section, and the Appellate
  Division of the Judicial Section; and
         WHEREAS, This distinguished jurist serves as an editorial
  consultant to Matthew Bender's Texas Family Law Practice and
  Procedure, and she has been a contributing editor of The Family Law
  Forum, The Family Law Section Report, and other publications; in
  addition, she has been the president of both the El Paso and
  Trans-Pecos Bar Associations, and she has served on the Governor's
  Task Force on Indigent Defense; and
         WHEREAS, Over the years, Chief Justice McClure has received a
  host of accolades, among them the Civil Rights Award from the El
  Paso Branch of the NAACP, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from
  Texas Christian University, and the Presidential Certificate of
  Merit from the directors and past presidents of the State Bar of
  Texas; she was named 2006 Judge of the Year by the El Paso Chapter of
  the Mexican American Bar Association, 2005 Samuel Pessarra
  Outstanding Jurist by the Texas Bar Foundation, and 2004 Jurist of
  the Year by the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial
  Lawyers; and
         WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Chief Justice McClure is
  supported by the love and encouragement of her husband and their two
  children, Kinsey and Scott; and
         WHEREAS, Chief Justice McClure exemplifies the highest
  standards of her profession, and she has contributed significantly
  to jurisprudence in the Lone Star State, earning the respect and
  appreciation of her colleagues and her fellow citizens alike; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Chief Justice Ann Crawford McClure
  on her receipt of the 2013 BRAVO Award from the League of Women
  Voters of El Paso and extend to her sincere best wishes for
  continued success in her important work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Chief Justice McClure as an expression of high regard
  by the Texas House of Representatives.