83R22302 BPG-D
  By: Coleman H.R. No. 1621
         WHEREAS, Mamie Charity Club in Houston is honoring talented
  students and exceptional mothers at its scholarship brunch on May
  4, 2013; and
         WHEREAS, Founded by Christine Williams on June 27, 1955,
  Mamie Charity Club was named in honor of Mamie Crain, the wife of
  the Reverend N. C. Crain, who dedicated herself to assisting
  others; the club helps those in immediate need of short-term
  assistance; and
         WHEREAS, This civic-minded group is also committed to the
  education of young Texans; its 2013 youth scholarship honorees are
  Samantha Johnson, Jessica Trotter, and Jelisa McKale Jones; and
         WHEREAS, In addition, the club is recognizing as Precious
  Mothers 19 local women who promote self-esteem and academic
  excellence, and who further benefit the community through their
  efforts in behalf of safe neighborhoods and quality care for the
  elderly, homeless, and indigent, as well as through their
  participation in the democratic process; and
         WHEREAS, The 2013 Precious Mothers selected by the club are
  Mary Pennie, Mildred Thomas, Jackie Thomas, Ozolla Hughs, Dorcine
  Foster, Rhonda Wiggins, Katrina Clark, Jo Ann Junius, Michelle
  Rowe, Imelda Malveaux, Maggie Henderson, Pamela Freeman, Theresa
  Gilham, Levena Butler, Hattie Turner, Annie Crockett, Jerry Ann
  Pruitt, Kimberly Moseray, and Dorothy Harris; and
         WHEREAS, The members of Mamie Charity Club are helping to
  make Houston an even better place in which to live and work, and it
  is indeed a pleasure to join them in acknowledging these deserving
  students and noteworthy women of the community; now, therefore, be
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby commend Mamie Charity Club for its contributions
  and congratulate the club's 2013 scholarship brunch honorees; and,
  be it further
         RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
  for the club and its honorees as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.