H.R. No. 267
         WHEREAS, The volunteers, staff, and board members who make up
  the Texas Court Appointed Special Advocates organization are
  gathering in Austin on January 30, 2013, for CASA Day at the
  Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Court appointed special advocates are individuals
  who speak up for children removed from their homes due to abuse or
  neglect; sworn in by judges, CASA volunteers make certain that
  these young people have a voice in the family court, social service,
  and foster care systems, and the advocates remain focused on each
  child until he or she is placed in a safe, permanent home and the
  case is closed; often, the volunteers are a rare source of stability
  in the lives of the young people they assist; and
         WHEREAS, The CASA movement began in Seattle in 1977, when a
  judge realized that he needed to know more about the young victims
  of abuse and neglect who appeared in his courtroom; the
  contributions of the volunteers who responded to his request for
  assistance were so valuable that the program quickly spread to
  other states; the first CASA program in Texas began in 1979, and
  there are currently 69 local programs in the state that together
  provide life-changing advocacy to more than half of the children in
  the foster care system; and
         WHEREAS, A diverse group that comes from a broad range of
  backgrounds, CASA volunteers in Texas research a child's situation,
  offer information and recommendations about the individual's best
  interests, and work with the state to find the young person a
  "forever family"; in 2012, more than 7,200 volunteers gave help and
  hope to more than 22,900 children; and
         WHEREAS, Countless residents of Texas benefit from the
  critical services provided by CASA volunteers, whose work ensures
  that a most vulnerable group in our society is not forgotten; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize January 30, 2013, as CASA Day at the
  Capitol and commend all those associated with Texas CASA for their
  steadfast commitment and admirable achievements; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 267 was adopted by the House on January
  30, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House