83R1517 STE-D
  By: Raney H.R. No. 254
         WHEREAS, Proud residents of the Bryan-College Station area
  are gathering in Austin on February 6, 2013, to celebrate
  Bryan-College Station Day at the State Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Located among the gentle, rolling hills of the
  Brazos Valley, this part of east-central Texas was encompassed in
  the land grant that Stephen F. Austin received in 1825; one of
  Austin's nephews, William Joel Bryan, donated land for a town site
  in 1859, and the new settlement was named in his honor; surrounded
  by fertile farmlands and served by the railroad from the late 1860s
  onward, Bryan became an important commercial center and was
  formally incorporated in 1872; and
         WHEREAS, Just south of Bryan, a defining event occurred in
  1876 when the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas opened
  its doors to students for the first time; the community that grew up
  adjacent to the new school took its name, College Station, from the
  post office that was established there, along the railway, in 1887;
  home to many faculty members, the town expanded northward through
  the years, aided in part by an electric railway that linked it to
  Bryan in the early 1900s, and the community incorporated in 1938;
  growing in conjunction with the university, College Station saw a
  sixfold increase in its population between 1960 and 2000; and
         WHEREAS, Texas A&M is one of the largest public universities
  in the United States and ranks among the nation's leaders in
  academic research; students from around the globe pursue degrees in
  diverse areas of study, and this international presence infuses
  additional vibrancy into a school already rich in tradition and
  spirit; former A&M students have achieved distinction in many
  fields of endeavor, and five individuals affiliated with the
  university have earned the Nobel Prize; the university also
  benefits from the loyal backing of a legion of students, alumni, and
  other supporters, who know Bryan-College Station affectionately as
  Aggieland; and
         WHEREAS, The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum on
  the university campus is the area's leading tourist attraction and
  has received almost 700,000 visitors since it opened in 1997; as the
  repository of more than 100,000 artifacts, the library and museum
  document the career and accomplishments of the nation's 41st
  president while promoting civic literacy and fostering
  volunteerism and an interest in public service; a number of other
  outstanding museums and galleries are located in Bryan-College
  Station as well, making the area a thriving center for cultural
  activities; and
         WHEREAS, Excellent shopping and dining locations abound in
  the two cities, and the many beautiful parks offer residents and
  visitors opportunities for a range of recreational and leisure
  pursuits; together, Bryan and College Station afford the amenities
  of a dynamic metropolitan area while also providing the charm and
  warmth that are typical of small towns, and this combination helps
  make these adjoining communities a unique, prosperous, and
  enjoyable part of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2013, as Bryan-College
  Station Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the
  visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a rewarding visit to