#### **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 2, 2011 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 2, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

# **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson Senator Troy Fraser

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 A.M. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Watson moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on April 18, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Glenn Hegar and Senator Jane Nelson.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Craig Estes to introduce The Honorable Joseph D. Brown, nominee to the Texas Youth Commission.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Kel Seliger to introduce Larry Carroll, nominee to the Texas Youth Commission.

#### **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, May 2, 2011 Page 2

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Jeff Wentworth to introduce Toni Sykora, nominee to the Texas Youth Commission, and The Honorable William Player Conley, nominee to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission.

David G. Gutierrez, nominee to the Board of Pardons and Paroles, made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Deuell moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of David G. Gutierrez to the Board of Pardons and Paroles. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

The nominees to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Nelson moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Texas Juvenile Probation Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Watson to introduce Debbie Kay Unruh, nominee as the Independent Ombudsman for the Texas Youth Commission. Mrs. Unruh made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Debbie Kay Unruh as the Independent Ombudsman for the Texas Youth Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

The nominees to the Texas Youth Commission made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Deuell moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Texas Youth Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Senator Hegar moved that committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Health and Human Services Council, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, State Health Services Council, State Pension Review Board, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Orthotics and Prosthetics, Texas Commission

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, May 2, 2011 Page 3

of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Health Services Authority Board of Directors, and Texas Military Preparedness Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).
There being no further business, at 8:47 A.M. Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.
Senator Bob Deuell, Chair
Bogan Durr, Clerk