MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, April 4, 2011 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, April 4, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Troy Fraser Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. Without a quorum being present, the following business was transacted:

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Florence Shapiro to introduce Charles E. Roy, nominated as the Director of the Office of State-Federal Relations.

At the request of Senator Watson, Mr. Roy's opening statement has been placed in the record. See attachment.

Upon arrival of a quorum, Senator Hegar moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on March 28, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Troy Fraser, Senator Jane Nelson, and Senator Robert Nichols.

Mr. Roy answered questions from members of the committee.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 4, 2011 Page 2

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Charles E. Roy as the Director of the Office of State-Federal Relations. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 1 nay, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. (Senator Nichols and Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Hegar to introduce James S. Arbuckle and Steve K. Balas, who was unable to attend the hearing, nominees to the Lower Colorado River Authority.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Fraser to introduce John M. Franklin and Jett Jay Johnson, nominees to the Lower Colorado River Authority.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Dan Patrick to introduce The Honorable Elsa R. Alcala, nominee to the Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8.

The nominees to the Lower Colorado River Authority answered questions from members of the committee.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Watson to introduce Douglas C. Wilson, nominated as the Inspector General for Health and Human Services.

Judge Alcala made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Mr. Wilson made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Without a quorum being present, all nominees were left pending.

There being no further business, at 10:29 A.M., Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Pursuant to the adoption of the suspension of Senator Rule 11.10, The Senate Committee on Nominations reconvened at Senator Deuell's desk for the purpose of voting on the nominations of The Honorable Elsa R. Alcala to the Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8, Douglas C. Wilson as the Inspector General for Health and Human Services, the Lower Colorado River Authority, and all non-appearing boards at 5:42 P.M. Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve Judge Elsa R. Alcala to the Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Douglas Wilson as the Inspector General for Health and Human Services. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 4, 2011 Page 3

Senator Nichols moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Lower Colorado River Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senator Rodriguez moved that committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: Judicial Districts Board, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, Texas Diabetes Council, and Texas Optometry Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

There being no further business, at 5:45 P.M. Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.
Senator Bob Deuell, Chair

Bogan Durr, Clerk