#### **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 7, 2011 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 7, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

# **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson Senator Troy Fraser

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Jane Nelson.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on February 28, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Judith Zaffirini to introduce Dan A. Hughes, Jr., nominee to the Parks and Wildlife Commission.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Jeff Wentworth to introduce Richard R. Scott, nominee to the Parks and Wildlife Commission.

### **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 7, 2011 Page 2

Mr. Hughes and Mr. Scott made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Dan A. Hughes, Jr. to the Parks and Wildlife Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Richard R. Scott to the Parks and Wildlife Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Eddie Lucio to introduce Carlos Rubinstein, nominee to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Steve Ogden introducing Donna L. Nelson, nominee to the Public Utility Commission of Texas.

Mrs. Nelson made opening remarks and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Senator Nelson moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Donna L. Nelson to the Public Utility Commission of Texas. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Mr. Rubinstein made opening remarks and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Senator Rodriguez moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Carlos Rubinstein to the Texas Commission for Environmental Quality. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Senator Hegar moved that committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: 244th Judicial District Court, Ector County, 76th Judicial District Court, Camp, Morris, and Titus Counties, Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Camino Real Regional Mobility Authority, Lower Neches Valley Authority, Sabine River Authority, Sabine River Compact Administration, and Texas Facilities Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Senate Committee on Nominations
Minutes
Monday, March 7, 2011

Monday, March 7, 2011 Page 3

Chairman Deuell asked for a motion to approve the nomination of Roderick Bordelon as Commissioner to the Division of Worker's Compensation, Texas Department of Insurance who had been left pending before the committee. Senator Hegar so moved and the motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent. (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form voting aye).

There being no further business, at 10:04 A.M. Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Pursuant to the adoption of the suspension of Senate Rule 11.10, The Senate Committee on Nominations reconvened at Senator Deuell's desk for the purpose of voting on the nomination of T. Dan Friedkin to the Parks and Wildlife Commission at 2:21 P.M. Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve T. Dan Friedkin to the Parks and Wildlife Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent.

There being no further business, at 2:22 P.M. Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair

Bogan Durr, Clerk