MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, February 28, 2011 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, February 28, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson Senator Troy Fraser

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Other Senate member(s) attending: Senator Rodney Ellis.

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Kirk Watson.

Senator Hegar moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on February 21, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Steve Ogden introducing Sheri S. Givens of the Office of Public Utility Counsel.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, February 28, 2011 Page 2

Mrs. Givens made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Sheri S. Givens as Counsel to the Office of Public Utility Counsel. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Watson introducing Deeia Beck as Public Counsel for the Office of Public Insurance Counsel.

Deeia Beck made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Nelson moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Deeia Beck as Public Counsel to the Office of Public Insurance Counsel. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson submitted a voting form voting aye).

Senator Nelson was recognized to introduce Lance T. Evans of the Forensic Science Commission. Chairman Deuell read written remarks from Senator Ogden introducing The Honorable John M. Bradley of the Forensic Science Commission.

The panel answered questions from members of the committee as well as from Senator Ellis.

Public testimony was heard by the committee. Witnesses testifying and registering on the entity are shown on the attached list.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Norma J. Farley, M.D. to the Forensic Science Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson and Senator Nelson submitted voting forms voting aye).

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Nizam Peerwani, M.D. to the Forensic Science Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson and Senator Nelson submitted voting forms voting aye).

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, February 28, 2011 Page 3

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Lance T. Evans to the Forensic Science Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson and Senator Nelson submitted voting forms voting aye).

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: 334th Judicial District Court, Harris County, Advisory Committee to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments, Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education, Correctional Managed Health Care Committee, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Fire Fighters' Pension Commissioner, Judicial Compensation Commission, State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Instruments, Texas Animal Health Commission, Texas Crime Stoppers Council, Texas Funeral Service Commission, and Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. (Senator Watson and Senator Nelson submitted voting forms voting aye).

Senator Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed until 11:00 A.M. on Monday, February 28, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

At 11:04 A.M., Senator Deuell reconvened the meeting.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of The Honorable John M. Bradley to the Forensic Science Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 2 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 11:05 A.M., Senator Deuell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair		
Bogan Durr, Clerk		