Wednesday, July 9, 2008

10:00 a.m.

Woodlands, Texas






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on State Water Funding was held on Wednesday, July 9, 2008, at the Lone Star College System Training and Development Center, Room 102, located at 5000 Research Forest Drive,  The Woodlands, Texas, 77381.







Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Robert Duncan

Representative Mike Hamilton

Representative Dan Gattis


Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Juan Hinojosa

Representative Brandon Creighton

Representative Will Hartnett




The chair called the meeting to order at 10:13 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The following testified before the Committee:


-Kevin Ward, Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development Board


-Mark Vickery, Executive Director, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality



-Jeff Taylor, Deputy Director, Houston Water Utilities and Chair, Region H Regional Water Planning Group

-SuEllen Staggs, Utilities Director, City of Sugarland

-Michael Page, General Counsel, Woodlands Municipal Utility Districts and the San Jacinto River Authority

-Steve Bresnen, Attorney, North Harris County Regional Water Authority






-Joe Beal, Senior Consultant, PBS&J

-John Ma, Managing Director, Public Sector and Infrastructure Investment Banking, Goldman Sachs

-Charles Jones, President and C.E.O., Inland Public Properties Development Inc.

-Susan Butler, Water Resources Manager, CH2M Hill

-Michael Deane, Associate Assistant Administrator, Office of Water,  Environmental Protection Agency


Public Testimony:

-Lori Levy, Attorney, Texas Association of Realtors


There being no further business, Senator Averitt moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 






Senator Kip Averitt, Co-Chair




Representative Mike Hamilton, Co-Chair




Teddy Carter, Clerk