By: Truitt H.R. No. 80

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Carroll High School Dragons captured their third 2 consecutive state and national titles with a thrilling 43-29 3 victory over Austin Westlake in the 2006 Class 5A state

4 championship game in San Antonio on December 23, 2006; and

5 WHEREAS, A true high school football dynasty, the Carroll
6 Dragons have enjoyed unparalleled success over the past three
7 seasons, posting a perfect 48-0 record; by winning their fourth
8 championship in the past five years, the Dragons have tied the Texas
9 high school record with seven state football titles; and

WHEREAS, Led by head coach Todd Dodge, the team has also set a state record by competing in five consecutive Class 5A state championship games; moreover, the Dragons have suffered just one defeat in the past five seasons, posting an incredible 79-1 record during that span; and

WHEREAS, Members of the 2006 Carroll Dragons varsity football team are Brad Klosterman, Kyle Padron, Anthony Ford, Ross Stripling, Carter Murphey, Bryce Saldi, Cole Wicklund, Ford Renfro, Jack Peterson, Josh Rake, Blake Cantu, Blake Tomlin, Mitchell Osborne, Jared Freeman, Riley Dodge, Jeremy Gray, Jarik Jurica, Caleb Jameson, Brent Huggins, T. J. Christensen, Jayson Jenkins, Tanner Toal, Corey Rucci, Colin McCleskey, Ethan Cunningham, Brandon Boulton, Chris Brainard, Ryan Walker, Kevin Stroope, Arius Ford, Kyle McIntyre, Tre' Newton, Tony Proskovec, Luke Anderson, Steven Henry, Stefan Knipp, Kevin Milke, Josh Burch, Joe

H.R. No. 80

1 VanBreeman, Earl Newsome, Cole Ryon, Mike Troop, Chris Elam, Matt 2 Little, Nick Sproul, Stephen Jacewicz, Zack Atteberry, Cade Foster, 3 Michael Cruciani, Perry Maynard, Shaun McPeters, Loarn Hinkle, Mark Seaman, Derek Tomlin, Alex Vasquez, David Stoltzman, Steven 4 5 Wilhelm, Sam Smith, Robert Miller, Jeff Hanson, Andy Miller, James Romano, Russell Marks, Austin Shrum, Max Cozine, Jonathan Simcho, 6 7 Craig Kleinhammer, Kyle Russo, Cameron Mahaffey, Jordan Farmer, 8 Justin Padron, Jonny Howle, Chase Wilson, Joe Malley, Greg Lehane, Ryan Buntyn, Sam Flora, Adam Mangini, Bill Bartholomew, J. P. 9 10 Gavin, Louis Peryea, Ian O'Connor, Michael Covert, Chris Borne, Jared Acton, Wes Addison, Brayden Burnett, Will McWhirter, Blake 11 12 Bridgers, Michael Flynn, Sam Smyers, Jared Ervin, Nick Leppo, Chris Armstrong, Andrew Green, Max Youngers, Taylor Krogh, Clayton Nolan, 13 14 William Beazley, Walker Phillips, Greg Brown, Ben Carroll, Steven 15 Molle, Matt Jefferson, Josh Ramirez, Matt Boyles, Jake Jackson, John Fallon, John Venter, Andrew Jones, Kevin Swanson, Nathan 16 17 Bumagny, Jackson Richards, Sam Schwartzstein, Robert Hill, Eric Logan Gourley, Ben Townsend, Craig Elam, Preston 18 19 Johnston, Mike Kane, Alex Mladenovic, Jacob Stringer, Ryan Siu, Matt Rake, Bryce Vradenburg, John Deely, Tanner Stephens, Derek 20 21 Bammel, Sam Stevenson, Eric Fleps, Jackson Beall, Chaz Curnow, Braeden Moses, Tom Fleps, Luke Riley, Scott Lopano, Ryan Roper, 22 Charlie Clarkson, Ryan Schwend, and Robert Prigmore; and 23 24 WHEREAS, Coach Dodge, who is moving on to become the new head 25 football coach at the University of North Texas, was aided in his 26 efforts by assistant coaches Ron Mendoza, Robert Drake, Todd Ford, 27 Dave Fuller, Tony Holmes, Larry Hughes, Aaron Lineweaver, Paul

H.R. No. 80

- 1 Pinson, Kirk Rogers, Doug Stephens, and Jeremy Trojacek; the team
- 2 also benefited from the support of the school's principal, Dr.
- 3 Daniel Presley, athletic director Ronnie Tipps, administrative
- 4 assistant Beth Moore, athletic trainers Derek Abell, Jana Peters,
- 5 and Kody Truebenbach, and team manager James Cheatwood; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
- 7 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
- 8 commitment to teamwork, and the student-athletes of the Carroll
- 9 High School Dragons football team will carry the memory of this
- 10 accomplishment with them for many years to come; now, therefore, be
- 11 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Todd Dodge and the Carroll
- 14 Dragons on winning the 2006 5A state football championship and
- extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this
- 16 momentous achievement; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the team, Coach Dodge, and his staff as an expression
- of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.