H.R. No. 693

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from the inaugural class of the Irma Lerma 2 Rangel Young Women's Leadership School are visiting the State 3 Capitol, and their presence in the chamber on this day, March 10, 4 2005, provides a most welcome opportunity to recognize their school 5 as well as its namesake, the Honorable Irma Rangel; and

6 WHEREAS, Opened in the Oak Lawn neighborhood of Dallas in the fall of 2004, the Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 7 is the newest of the Dallas Independent School District's magnet 8 programs; currently serving young women in grades seven and eight, 9 the school will add a grade with each school year until the 10 11 2008-2009 school year, when students from grades seven through 12 12 will be accommodated; loosely affiliated with the Young Women's 13 Leadership School in Harlem, it is the first all-girls public 14 school in Dallas and part of a move that allows educators to focus 15 on the different ways boys and girls learn; and

16 WHEREAS, Through leadership seminars, weekly advisory partnerships with educational 17 meetings, and and cultural 18 organizations, the Dallas school provides students with a rigorous course of study that prepares them for college and addresses their 19 developmental needs; teachers work with students following a 20 21 project-oriented curriculum that emphasizes math, science, and 22 technology, but also offers ample learning opportunities in foreign 23 languages and humanities; in addition to providing an excellent academic curriculum, the school encourages students to develop a 24

1

H.R. No. 693 1 strong sense of ethics and civic responsibility and to become 2 leaders in their community; and

3 WHEREAS, It is fitting that such an admirable and progressive 4 institution be named for Irma Rangel, who was a trailblazer and one 5 of the leading proponents of the state's efforts to improve public school and higher education systems; Ms. Rangel taught for 14 years 6 7 in Texas, California, and Venezuela before changing careers and 8 earning a degree at St. Mary's School of Law in San Antonio; after 9 working as an assistant district attorney for two years in Corpus Christi, she returned to her hometown of Kingsville in 1973 to open 10 11 her own law practice; and

12 WHEREAS, When Ms. Rangel won a seat in the house of representatives in 1976, she became the first Hispanic woman 13 14 elected to the Texas Legislature; she spent more than 26 years in 15 the Texas House and was the fifth most-senior member of this body at the time of her death in 2003; while serving in the house, she 16 17 sponsored legislation establishing a pharmacy school for Texas A&M University--Kingsville, now known as the Irma Lerma Rangel College 18 19 of Pharmacy; and

20 WHEREAS, The first Mexican American woman to be appointed 21 chair of a house committee, Representative Rangel was named chair 22 of the House Committee on Higher Education in 1995, and she served 23 in that role for four consecutive legislative sessions; she was 24 also the first woman elected chair of the Mexican American 25 Legislative Caucus and the first Mexican American to receive the 26 G. J. Sutton Award from the Legislative Black Caucus; and

27 WHEREAS, A passionate advocate for the poor, the needy, and

2

H.R. No. 693

the underserved, Irma Rangel was a true Texas pioneer who worked tirelessly to make a college education accessible to all citizens, and it is indeed appropriate that an important part of her legacy lies with the outstanding young women who are attending the school that bears her name; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 7 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the rich and accomplished life of 8 the Honorable Irma Rangel and extend to the students of the Irma 9 Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School visiting with us today 10 sincere best wishes for success in their new school and with all 11 their future endeavors; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 14 House of Representatives.

> Alonzo Goolsby Hodge Escobar Galĺego Anchia Hunter Jones of Lubbock Leibowitz Luna McClendon Morrison Naishtat Seaman Solis Solomons

> > 3

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 693

Menendez

H.R. No. 693

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 693 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House