## RESOLUTION

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, With the close of the 79th Legislature, the Honorable Peggy Hamric is ending her service in the Texas House of Representatives, having served her Harris County constituents, and in fact all Texans, with integrity and distinction for 16 years; and WHEREAS, A member of the house since 1991, Ms. Hamric made an immediate impact during her debut in the 72nd Legislature, when she earned recognition as Outstanding Freshman from the Young Conservatives of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Her insight and intellect have continued to make a mark throughout her tenure and led to appointments on a wide range of important legislative committees; she has served on the House Administration Committee since 1997, and in her appointment as its chair during the 78th and 79th Legislatures, she earned the distinction of being the first woman to fill that post; she has been a member of the Transportation Committee since 1999, serving as its chief budget officer for the last two sessions, and a member of the Appropriations Committee since 2001; her remarkable abilities as a problem solver have also resulted in appointments to the State Preservation Board and the Special Committee on School Finance; and WHEREAS, This highly respected legislator has garnered a long list of honors during her service in the house, including the Scholars Award for Excellence in Government from the North Harris-Montgomery Community College District in 1993, the Friend of Business Award from the Texas Chamber of Commerce in 1994, and the

- 1 Public Policy Award from the American Cancer Society in 1997; and
- 2 WHEREAS, A valued member of numerous organizations dedicated
- 3 to governmental issues, Representative Hamric has exchanged ideas
- 4 with other influential leaders in her membership with the National
- 5 Republican Legislators Association, the American Legislative
- 6 Exchange Council, the National Conference of State Legislators, the
- 7 National Organization of Women Legislators, the Texas Women's
- 8 Alliance, and the Texas Federation of Republican Women; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Peggy Hamric may have been all business when it came
- 10 to serving the needs of her constituents, but she also enjoyed
- 11 lighter moments at the State Capitol, such as the dual 29th birthday
- 12 celebrations she repeatedly shared with Representative Beverly
- 13 Woolley and her membership in the Legislative Chemical Council, a
- 14 single-issue focus group dedicated to outlawing gray hair on
- 15 elected officials; and
- WHEREAS, Exhibiting inspired leadership, sound judgment, and
- 17 longstanding dedication, Peggy Hamric has made a profound impact on
- 18 the lives of Texas citizens, and her efforts to improve her state
- 19 will continue to be appreciated for years to come; now, therefore,
- 20 be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 22 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the Honorable Peggy
- 23 Hamric for her notable service as a member of this chamber and
- 24 extend to her, her husband Burt, and their two children and two
- 25 grandchildren warmest best wishes for continued success and
- 26 happiness; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for Representative Hamric as an expression of high regard
- 2 by her colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

McCall Woolley Pitts Geren

Craddick Giddings Menendez Allen Gonzales Merritt Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Miller Anchia Goodman Moreno Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Berman Naishtat Blake Guillen Nixon Noriega Bohac Haggerty Bonnen Hamilton Oliveira Hardcastle Branch Olivo Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Orr Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Hegar Paxton Callegari Hernandez Pena Herrero Campbell Phillips Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Castro Hill Pitts Chavez Hochberg Puente Chisum Hodge Quintanilla Coleman Homer Raymond Cook of Navarro Норе Reyna Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Corte Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Ritter Crabb Rodriguez Crownover Hughes Rose Davis of Harris Hunter Seaman Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Hupp Dawson Isett Smith of Harris Delisi Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Denny Solis Deshotel Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Dukes Straus Dunnam Swinford Talton Dutton King of Zavala Edwards Taylor Eiland Kolkhorst Thompson Eissler Krusee Truitt Elkins Kuempel Turner Uresti England Laney Escobar Laubenberg Van Arsdale Farabee Leibowitz Veasey Villarreal Farrar Luna Flores Madden Vo Flynn Martinez West Martinez Fischer Wong Frost McCall Gallego Woolley

Zedler

McClendon

McReynolds

Gattis

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 699 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House