RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A distinguished former member, speaker pro tem, and
- dean of the Texas House of Representatives, the Honorable Bill G.
- 3 Hollowell of Grand Saline, is celebrating his 77th birthday on July
- 4 22, 2005; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native Texan, Mr. Hollowell was born in 1928 in Van
- 6 Zandt County; he pursued his higher education at Tyler Junior
- 7 College, North Texas State University, and East Texas Baptist
- 8 College and later earned a law degree from Baylor University and a
- 9 master of law degree from The University of Texas; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Hollowell served his nation with distinction for
- 11 nearly four decades as a member of the Air and Army National Guard,
- 12 earning 18 major service awards and achieving the rank of brevet
- 13 lieutenant general by the end of his storied military career; and
- 14 WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman was first elected to
- 15 represent the constituents of Van Zandt, Upshur, and Smith Counties
- 16 in 1956; during his notable tenure in office, he shared his
- 17 leadership and expertise as a longtime member of the appropriations
- 18 committee, as vice chair of the house administration committee, as
- 19 chair of the state affairs, general investigating, ethics, and
- 20 public lands and buildings committees, as a member of the
- 21 Legislative Budget Board, and more; and
- WHEREAS, All told, Mr. Hollowell worked to benefit his fellow
- 23 Texans in the house of representatives for 28 years, making him at
- 24 the time of his retirement one of only three house members in the

H.R. No. 11

- 1 history of the Lone Star State to have served as long; today, Mr.
- 2 Hollowell's affection for Texas government remains strong; he and
- 3 his wife, Mary Jane, whom he married on January 16, 1999, still keep
- 4 an apartment in the Capital City, where he remains involved in state
- 5 affairs; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Widely respected for his admirable record of public
- 7 service, he has also worked for FEMA, the U.S. House of
- 8 Representatives, and the Texas Water Quality Board over the course
- 9 of his career; honored by the Texas Healthcare Association for his
- 10 contributions in behalf of the elderly in 1987, he was named Man of
- 11 the Year by the Grand Saline Chamber of Commerce in 1990; and
- WHEREAS, Bill Hollowell has deservedly earned a reputation as
- 13 a man of character and integrity, and his birthday provides an
- 14 opportune time to pay tribute to this accomplished gentleman for
- 15 his many good works; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 17 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Honorable
- 18 Bill G. Hollowell on the occasion of his 77th birthday and extend to
- 19 him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Mr. Hollowell as an expression of high regard by the
- 22 Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes Flynn

H.R. No. 11

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	D	. No	- 1	1
п	.R	• NO	• _	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 11 was adopted by the House on July 21, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House