SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS 
                              Monday, February 3, 2003 
                                     3:00 p.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.016 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations  
         was held on Monday, February 3, 2003, in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jon Lindsay                     Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos               
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Chris Harris 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:  
         The following member arrived after the roll was called: 
         Senator Barrientos 
         The Chair introduced the Committee Staff. 
         The Chair laid out the committee rules for the 78th Legislative  
         Session noting that Rule 18.01 had been amended. 
         Senator Harris moved to adopt the rules as amended; there being  
         no objection the amended rules were adopted. 
         The Chair laid out the adoption for the following: Texas  
         Agricultural Finance Authority Board of Directors, Air  
         Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Advisory Board, Texas  
         Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, Interagency Council  
         on Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Automobile  
         Theft Prevention Authority, Texas State Board of Examiners of  
         Professional Counselors, Texas Commission on Fire Protection and  
         the Texas Industrialized Building Code Council. 
         Staff members from the Governor's appointment office answered  
         questions directed by Senator Barrientos.    
         All nominees were voted upon and approved. 
         There being no further business, at 3:30pm, Senator Lindsay  
         announced the committee would stand in recess subject to the  
         call of the chair.  Without objection the committee recessed. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay, Chairman                Tanya Tillman Clerk