SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                            Monday, February 15, 1999 
                                     1:55 pm 
                          Lt. Governor's Committee Room 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.11, a public hearing  
         of the Senate Committee on Education was held on Monday,  
         February 15, 1999 in Lt. Governor's Committee Room, at Austin,  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Gregory Luna 
         Senator David Cain 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Bill Ratliff 
         Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:55 pm.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         Cain, West and Zaffirini. 
         At 1:55 pm Senator Luna assumed the chair.   
         The Chair recalled SB 1 as amended and recognized the author,  
         Senator Bivins, for a motion.  Senator Bivins requested  
         unanimous consent to roll the amendments into the bill to  
         create a committee substitute;  without objection, it was so  
         ordered.  Senator Bivins then moved that the new committee  
         substitute be adopted; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Bivins moved that SB 1 as amended do not pass but that  
         CSSB 1 be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation  
         that it do pass and be printed.  The motion carried with a  
         vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.   
         At 1:57 pm Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         There being no further business, at 1:57 pm Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk